The Book of Jayne

Here are excerpts from the social worker’s letters to my mother and to my Dad, formed into a poem. I originally used this as part of a writing and photography self exploration class I offer. It was put in a Japanese stab-bind book, thus the title, The Book of Jayne, Jayne being my birth name, which my mother gave me and which I kept through foster care and which my Mum and Dad discarded. The poem:

Notice

to the mother or other person

having charge of the child.

I hereby certify

I have received

Adoption of Children, Explanatory Memorandum,

from which I                                                                 detach. Your baby

in the care of one

of our foster mothers. You will require to pay

two pounds per week towards her

maintenance. I do hope you are feeling

better now that you have returned

home.

 

baby passed

                                                                                     is now fit

for adoption

whether

or not

you still wish her                                                          to go.

                                                                                     Sign the form of consent.

I do hope 

                                                                                     This is convenient.

We have permission – 

a certificate signed

by baby’s mother.

 

Call to collect baby                                                       I shall be glad

to have a note of the new names

you intend to give

baby.

                                                                                     Yours Sincerely

                                                                                     (Mrs.)

                                                                                     Assistant Children’s Welfare Supervisor

 

About this entry